School Board Races Set Up in Dickinson, Iron Counties | News, Sports, Jobs

The incumbents had mixed results in school board races Tuesday in Dickinson County.

In the Breitung Township School District, where nine candidates were running for four four-year terms, three incumbents held their seats.

In the Norway-Vulcan school district, four candidates were vying for three seats, including two incumbents, both of whom will remain on the board.

In the county district of North Dickinson, the only incumbent in a three-for-two race was ousted.

The top four voters in the Breitung election were incumbent Angela Hall, 2,359 votes; holder Joanne A. To, 1,742; challenger Curtis VanDusen, 1,742; and incumbent Eric Johnson, 1,681.

Incumbent Keith Hammond finished out of the race, 1,518 votes; and challengers Mark Flood, 1,606; John Marcell, 1356; Rosalie Newlin, 737; and Anthony Grudnoski, 543.

Newcomer Joshua Edwards was the only candidate for a partial two-year term, garnering 3,452 votes.

Challenger Kristen L. Ball, with 1,762 votes, led the Norway-Vulcan race for three seats, joining incumbents Jan Van Gasse, 1,292, and Brady Gustafson, 1,237. Challenger Todd Proctor trailed with 718 votes .

North Dickinson voters elected Joseph Nurmi, 765 votes, and Christopher Roell, 698, to six-year terms on the school board. Incumbent Paul Schuiteman was out of the running with 361 votes.

Krystal Fayas, an incumbent, was the only candidate for a partial one-year term, garnering 889 votes.

There was no opposition on the ballot for the Iron Mountain Public Schools Board. Lisa Carollo, an incumbent, received 2,023 votes for a six-year term. Shari Picucci-White, also incumbent, received 2,051 votes to seek a partial three-year term.


In the Forest Park School District, challengers Michael Brzoznowski, with 953 votes, and Troy Margoni, 804, joined incumbent James Nocerini, 869, to win the school board election.

Holders Lisa Koon-Bloomburg, 748, and Angela Stafford, 596, along with challengers Melissa Moster, 454, and Allen Jaeger, 341, finished out of the race.

In the West Iron County School District, three incumbents held their positions, fending off challenger KC Atanasoff. Returning to the board are Marla Shamion, 2,223 votes; Julie Le May, 1,963; and Faye Atanasoff, 1,566.

KC Atanasoff received 1,313 votes in the election for three positions.


Incumbent Kelly Plunger and newcomer Jordan St. John won election to the North Central Board of Education, while incumbent Nathan Fleetwood and challenger Chad R. LaFave were eliminated. The totals were Plunger, 762; St. John, 645; Fleetwood, 371; and LaFave, 335.

There were 125 unresolved written votes for a partial four-year term, for which there were no candidates on the ballot.

Today’s breaking news and more to your inbox

Leave a Reply